Welcome to FutureTimeline.forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

These ads will disappear if you register on the forum

Photo

Combining genetic engineering and stem cells for curing any disease

stem cells genetic engineering

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

asdf

asdf

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Hi,

I have now read a lot about genetic engineering and stem cell therapies the last couple of months. It seems to me that stem cell research might be missing a key step to make effective therapies for regenerating tissue inside the body  (but I am not a scientist - just a guy enjoying reading about scientific progress). So maybe I am completely wrong.

In my opinion, stem cell treatments don't work well inside human bodies, because these stem cells need chemical instructions, and the instructions can only come from the adjacent body cells themselves. Now question is, how do we tell the body to give the stem cells chemical instructions - I think this is where gene therapy could come into play, where cells are manipulated to send out chemical instructions again, such as they used to when we all were foetuses.

I think that might be the key to eradicate all diseases and replace damaged tissue permanently.

What do you think? Does it make sense to combine these two sciences? And more importantly, if yes, why are scientists not joining up yet to create a stem cell gene therapy?

Jakob

Jakob

Groveling Goblin

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,952 posts

Sure. But diseases are constantly evolving and changing, and new ones are developing. We'll never get rid of them all.

asdf

asdf

• Members
  • Pip