Welcome to FutureTimeline.forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Deflationary Tendencies and Technology

AI Energy deflation

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

BsafeBparanoid

BsafeBparanoid

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

As a trained economist I understand the deflationary tendencies of revolutionary technology. In the near future we will likely face a combination of two economically earthshaking technologies. The first will be abundant and cheap energy, through solar, fusion, and other emerging technologies. The second will be the advent of Generalized Artificial Intelligence. Both of these technologies will undoubtedly create a recipe of strong deflationary tendencies within the economy of the world.

As far as my noetic faculties can reach, this will lead to something fiat economies are most endangered by. Namely, deflation. Mind you, even a small percentage of deflation will cause the super-rich to lose their minds.

Keynesian economics will most likely be on steroids due to this, and will be ineffective no matter how much money gets injected into the economy.

Is there anyway to prepare for this eventuality?

Erowind

Erowind

Anarchist without an adjective

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,428 posts
Why would abundant energy and greater efficiency induced by AI cause deflation? Wouldn't both these technologies increase room for economic growth?

R8Z

R8Z

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • LocationGermany

Why would abundant energy and greater efficiency induced by AI cause deflation? Wouldn't both these technologies increase room for economic growth?