Welcome to FutureTimeline.forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

No... it's not EEG (and other observations about the physics of BCIs)

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

starspawn0

starspawn0

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,960 posts

I decided to make a thread about the physics of BCIs, where I will join together a lot of information about EEG, MEG, FMRI, FNIRS, OCT, and other brain scanning modalities.  I am not an expert on this; but I work in an adjacent field, and am closer to being an expert than most people on this forum.  I thought I would begin with a leisurely stroll through EEG, and in particular discuss its limitations.  Some of this will be necessarily technical, but I will keep it at an "undergraduate level". In the post after that, I will write about FMRI, which is a fascinating technology, if you've never studied it.

Alright... now before I get to a technical intro on EEG, let me mention an amusing anecdote:

Several years ago, one often heard the apocryphal tale of the "invisible ships" manned by European explorers that first explored the "New World":

https://www.northcoa...ent?oid=2129921

When Captain Cook/Columbus/Magellan (depending on the version of the story you're hearing) arrived at the coast of Australia/Cuba/South America, the native people completely ignored them, presumably because huge ships were so alien to their experience that "... their highly filtered perceptions couldn't register what was happening, and they literally failed to 'see' the ships." (Quoting here from JZ Knight's What the Bleep Do We Know?)