Welcome to FutureTimeline.forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Do you smoke?

cancer addiction medical nanotechnology health singularity gene therapy

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

StanleyAlexander

StanleyAlexander

Saturn, the Bringer of Old Age

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 985 posts
  • LocationPortland, Oregon, USA, Earth, 2063

I've been smoking on and off for 10 years.  It's an awful habit, but as you may have heard, it's hard to quit.

I've justified it in the past by expressing my confidence that cancer will be cured before I develop it (I'm only 28), but meanwhile I smell like an ash tray and my senses of taste and smell aren't what they once were.  I float back and forth between not caring to quit, wanting to quit badly enough to go a month without a cigarette, and wanting to quit but not badly enough to be successful.

Do you smoke?  Why?  Do you want to quit?  Why or why not?  Do you think we will cure cancer soon via gene therapy or nanotechnology?  How about curing nicotine addiction, or addiction in general, via neural-nanobot interfaces?

Humanity's destiny is infinity

Kombaticus

Kombaticus

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 693 posts

Man Stanley, I understand perfectly.  I quit cold turkey for the new year...let me tell you, that wasn't the best idea.  While I actually haven't smoked more than a cigarette or two, I took up chewing tobacco...not just dip or snus, but fucking RED MAN.  At first I said, "I'll just buy one pack of it to ease into not smoking..."