How optimistic are you about the near-term future? [2021 - 2055]

Discuss the evolution of human culture, economics and politics in the decades and centuries ahead

0 - Extremely pessimistic
3%
13%
3%
13%
13%
22%
6%
3%
16%
3%
10 - Extremely optimistic
6%

Total votes: 32

bretbernhoft

Post by bretbernhoft »

Out of ten, I am an eight.
I am a JavaScript Developer, who loves learning; especially when solving challenges as part of making unique applications for Internet users throughout the global Web. I began my journey in technology with WordPress and Web Analytics. More recently I've been working with React, TypeScript, Tailwind CSS, JavaScript, Vite, Node, Git, Netlify, Quickbase and RESTful JSON APIs.
wjfox
Site Admin

Re: How optimistic are you about the near-term future? [2021 - 2055]

Post by wjfox »

For the time period you've specified? Not at all optimistic. I think the next few decades could be hell.

Beyond that, however, our technological capabilities will have become so exponentially greater, we have the potential to reach an inflection point that could transform our world and usher in a whole new era for humanity. A.K.A. the Singularity. Many long-standing problems, such as pollution, disease, hunger, etc. could rapidly melt away.

It's passing through that "make or break" point – some time around the middle of this century – that so troubles me.

So I voted 4 out of 10. Our current path is clearly unsustainable, and seems doomed to failure/collapse. The problem isn't technological – we're an intelligent species and could develop the solutions we need, if we put our minds to it. The problem is more cultural and political. Too many stupid, ignorant people in the population, and too many sociopathic politicians and business leaders who prioritise short-term greed above all else. I doubt we'll go extinct anytime soon, but we seem due for a "correction" of some sort.
Ozzie guy

Post by Ozzie guy »