Hobbies and Interests thread

Anything that doesn't quite fit in elsewhere...
wjfox
Site Admin

Hobbies and Interests thread

Post by wjfox »

What do you like to do, outside futurology?

These are my 10 main interests, in rough order of importance:

1. Staying fit and healthy. Yoga/stretches every morning, treadmill 2-3 times a week, and walking around parks/woodlands if the weather's good.

2. Video games. I've been playing them since 1984 and my interest hasn't waned an iota. :) I used to own consoles, but these days I'm entirely on PC. Would play them more often if I wasn't so busy, but I nearly always have a gaming session on Friday evening and Saturdays. My favourite genres are probably action/adventure, open world, and some occasional strategy or simulation stuff like Age of Empires, Cities: Skylines, etc.

3. Dining out. This is something I've been doing a lot less since Covid, but I love to meet friends for dinner in London, especially the West End with its buzzing atmosphere and amazing choice of venues. I also went to many live music shows (pre-2020) and hope to get back into those.

4. Astronomy. I love reading and learning about space, its vastness and beauty, the latest discoveries, progress on exploration and so on.

5. Reading (generally). I normally only read at bedtime, but I want to read more often. Currently finishing Blue Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson. I've been re-reading the entire Mars trilogy, having first read it back in the late 90s.

6. Movies and TV shows. I'm currently watching The Tourist on BBC iPlayer.

7. My garden. I get lots of birds in my garden (including some feral parakeets), and enjoy feeding them.